The dishes can wait.

There comes a time in your life…. Wait, let me rephrase that…. There comes a time, usually around 3:00 in the afternoon, when you are standing in your kitchen, the house is clean, dinner partially prepped, and both kids are napping, and you realize that you probably should have taken a nap as well…

If you have kids, whether it be one or five, you know the struggle. You have so much to do around the house and the only time you can get caught up is when the kids are napping. But, this is also your time to finally relax and regroup your thoughts. At the same time, if you have a baby or toddler, you were most likely up during the night to nurse or put them back to sleep, so this is your time to get caught up on sleep. So what do you do?

I’ll tell you what I do, I usually will get my front rooms cleaned up quickly, make sure I don’t need to early prep anything for dinner, then I sit down to relax for a minute before the kids get up. About 45 minutes into their nap, I start to feel the exhaustion set in, but now I have to make a choice. Do I go ahead and let myself start to doze off even though I know it will only last a few minutes if I’m lucky? Or should I just forget about it and go start another load of laundry? It’s a tough choice I’m telling you!

It’s hard because if I DO decide to nap, without a doubt, the kids will wake up early from their nap. But, If I decide not to nap, they will end up sleeping longer than usual. So it’s safe to say I never EVER get a nap… ever.

This is my regret. My ONLY regret about my life with kids is that I choose not to nap when I should have. I’m saying this with half open eyes and a pillow calling my name. So, I will leave you with one last piece of advice; sleep when you can, the dishes can wait.

  

Leave a Reply

