Half closed? I say half open.

As a mom, there’s not a lot that you get to call your own. You share your food, drink, bed, bathroom, shower, and pretty much anything you lay your hands on. So it’s safe to say that when it comes to sleep, you don’t get sole ownership of that either.

Now, for some people, that might not be such a good thing, but I’ve learned to find reasons to enjoy this aspect of being a mom. I never have to worry about eating too much because half of it gets eaten by my 2 year old. I always have a fresh drink because I have to refill it fairly often. I never get bored in the bathroom, and I don’t even get the chance to “take too long” in the shower. Now, when it comes to sleep, I have had a pretty hard time giving that up. It’s not easy when you start falling asleep while your baby is still attached to your boob, but you still try to do your best.

Lately, Chloe has been coming into our room in the middle of the night having to pee. At first, I would get so frustrated that she was awake AGAIN, but eventually I had to decide that I couldn’t change the fact that her bladder calls at horrible times. On a good note, she’s been waking up dry in the morning, so I can’t really complain. Then there are the great moments that make all of the dark, sleep deprived induced, circles under your eyes worth it every time. Like when your toddler climbs in your bed at 7:00am, gets right in your face and sweetly proclaims “Good mornin’ momma!” while giving you hugs and kisses. Or when you are woken up at 3:00am by your baby who is hungry, then when you pick her up and look at her, she smiles a huge, toothless grin. There are beautiful moments even in the middle of the night, you just have to find them.

In the end, it’s all in how you look at it. You can look at it with eyelids half closed, or you can see the bright sides and look with your eyes half open. (see what I did there? eh? eh!?) But seriously, if you are constantly expecting to be frustrated by not getting “you” time, then you will always be disappointed. Learn to enjoy the time you have with your babies because it doesn’t last near long enough.

HAK – Lindsey

  

Leave a Reply

