A trip back in time.

I was doing my weekly grocery shopping, and was gathering items from the baking aisle, when I came across the boxed cake mixes. Chloe started pointing and saying “cupcakes cupcakes!”, which then reminded me that I needed stuff for cupcakes for her birthday. That’s when it hit me, my baby girl, who is not such a baby anymore, is about to turn two… TWO! It was a bittersweet moment. I love seeing her grow into a beautiful little girl with such a firecracker personality, but I’m not sure I’m ready to accept that she is not a baby anymore. Sure I have another baby to fill that spot, but no matter how big she is, she will always be my baby. It got me thinking about all that has happened since she was born, and how dry our lives would be without her.

I remember the day I found out I was pregnant with her. Two weeks before, Chris and I had decided that I would go off of my birth control just days before he came home from work. You should know that at this point in time, he was working in the oil field two weeks in a row out of the month, so I only saw him for two weeks, then he was gone for two. He got back from work and we decided we wanted to try for a baby. Fast forward two weeks, and there we were. It had been an interesting day, and I hadn’t been thinking about the fact that we had tried. In fact, I had completely forgotten until I was on my way home from who knows where. I was driving past a CVS pharmacy, and I was suddenly reminded of our attempt. But I wasn’t due for “aunt flo” for another week at least, so I wondered if it would be a waste of time to test that early. I went ahead and got a pack even though the chances of me finding out just barely 2 weeks from possible conception were really slim. I got home, took the test, and left it on the counter while I straightened up the house. I was having a friend over to help me paint my kitchen chairs so I needed it to look like I somewhat cared about the tidiness of my home while my husband was at work. I got carried away cleaning and painting that I totally forgot about the test until my friend left hours later. I was about to go to bed, it was about midnight by now, and I went to brush my teeth and saw it laying there, patiently awaiting my inspection. At this point, I was so nervous that it took me a few minutes to even look at it. Once I finally got the courage to look at it and see the two little pink lines proving that I was indeed expecting, my heart began to race. I never thought it would happen this fast, and I was suddenly doubting if I was even ready to be a mom. Realizing that I was way to late to be thinking like that, I moved on to the next phase, total freak out. I had no idea what I was going to do. I knew that this was planned, but there was so much going on at that moment that I wasn’t quite sure how to feel. So like any normal person, I called my best friend (at 1:00 in the morning) and spilled the beans! Of course she freaked out too, which was actually kinda nice that I wasn’t the only basket case. Then, instead of finding some super cute way to tell Chris, I was an idiot and texted him out of freak-out mode. I totally regret it now because there are so many cute ways to tell someone you’re pregnant, but there’s nothing I can do about that now.

Fast forward to November 25th, 2013. I had been doing everything I could to progress my labor, but nothing was happening, so my doctor decided I needed to be induce. Worst thing in the WORLD! But it was definitely worth it. I don’t remember much of the first few weeks. Two weeks of crying, no sleep, pain from giving birth…. It was excruciating. But it evened out, and we had the sweetest little bundle of joy anyone could ask for.

She loved monkeys and frogs, so naturally, her first birthday was full of monkeys and frogs and sugar! One of the most memorable parts of her birthday was when we were opening gifts. She stood on her own for the very first time! Luckily, we got a picture of it before she quickly sat down. It was a wonderful birthday! and I hope her next one is just as good.

The past year has been very interesting. I got pregnant a month before her first birthday, which wasn’t exactly the plan, and it changed the next year for us all. Being a mother of a toddler is tiring. Being a pregnant mother with a toddler is exhausting! But Chloe’s speech, mind, and personality has grown and improved so much. She speaks in full sentences, has such humor it’s surprising, and is way to smart for her own good. Lately though, it has been hard on her that I have to invest so much of my time with the new baby. I have to remind myself that she is only 2 and still needs so much attention from me. So I’m trying my hardest to make sure she stays being my sweet, funny, happy girl.

For her second birthday, she wants puppies. I’m making her cupcakes that look like a puppy, and decorating everything with puppies. Unfortunately, she wants a real puppy, and that’s not happening. But when she’s old enough to take care of it on her own, then she can have one.

Well, there you go. There’s a trip down memory lane that you didn’t ask for, but you got it anyway. Here’s some pictures from the past year 🙂

Christmas 2014 IMG_2699 Cupcake

Leave a Reply

