Finding yourself

We all have several versions of ourselves. There’s the mom you, the wife you, the friend you, the sibling you, the child you, and then there’s the you when no one else is around. The question is, are all of these versions of yourself the same? or are you different around each situation?

It’s okay if you have different versions of yourself and they’re all different. It’s normal to have one demeanor around your family, and another around your friends. But who are you when no one is looking? The real you that doesn’t have to impress anyone, doesn’t have to watch what you say around kids, doesn’t have to be on your best behavior. Who are you then? It’s okay if that is a different you than when you’re out in public, there’s nothing wrong with that. But let me ask you, why do we have all of these different personalities? Is it because we’re afraid that each group of people won’t like us for who we really are? Or is it because that side of our personality is brought out by those specific people?

I’m not here to tell you that you need to be a certain person, I’m simply giving you some food for thought. So many times, we get caught up in being so many different versions of ourselves that we forget to take time alone and remember who we really are. Remember the things we like and what makes us really happy. Our minds get tuned to taking care of everyone else, feeding kids, and pleasing people that we don’t even realize that we have become someone else. Again, that is not a bad thing at all. It’s perfectly normal, and a good trait, for us to put aside what we want in order to help and satisfy others. But what we don’t realize is that little by little we get run down, and the joy of doing things for others turns into a chore that we eventually dread doing. It’s at this point when we need to take a time out from life and fulfill our hearts again. I know that seems cheesy to “fulfill our hearts”, but it explains it perfectly. If our heart is not in what we need to be doing, then it makes sense to check out and do something for ourselves that will be rejuvenating to our hearts and minds.

I want to leave you with something to consider. Take a day out of the week for yourself. I understand that getting out and going somewhere is not always possible (I know for me it’s not), so find a small hobby that you can call your own. Something that only you can do. Then, take either a few hours a day, or a few hours a week, to devote your mind to that one activity. See if it doesn’t help give some light to your tiring, everyday, life. I blog and bake. These two things are things that I love. Writing helps me express myself and get emotions and feelings out that I can’t express just anywhere, and baking gives me completion. It’s the starting and finishing something that is relaxing to me. I can see what should be (the recipe), follow it, make it my own, and then I get to see the finished product. These are some ideas, but definitely find something that completes you personally.

Leave a Reply

