Teaching acceptance 

As parents, we are always alert to things around our children that could potentially corrupt them. One of those things is other people. Some people use bad language or talk badly about other people. Yes these are not good things, and it’s true that we tend to put it on the other person to “behave” while around our kids, but is it really fair to put that responsibility on them?

     We all raise our children differently. For example, one parent may allow their daughters to wear short skirts, yet another does not allow them to. You typically will see conservative parent asking the non conservative parent to have their children “put on more clothes”, but you don’t see the other parent asking them to make their children dress less covered. So, why is it that the more conservative bunch is typically more demanding? Well, a lot of is has to do with being brought up in a church. I’m not saying that there is anything wrong with that, in fact I believe there are hundreds of benefits to being raised in a church, but there are several disadvantages. One, for example, is that because the child is raised with a conservative mindset, they believe everyone should follow those guidelines, instead of accepting others as they are. 

     I was thinking about it today as I was making dinner, and I came to a revelation. I don’t want to raise my kids to shy away from those who have different beliefs and upbringings, I want them to be open minded and comfortable where ever they are. An example of this is a personal one. My neighbor uses bad language in their everyday speech. It would be ridiculous of me to ask them not to speak that way around my children because I don’t want my kids thinking they are better than people who speak differently. I could just not let my kids be around them, but I don’t want them to think they should only spend time with people who speak the same as them. Instead, I will simply explain to my children that we choose not to use that type of language because it might be offensive to certain people, but if the neighbor wants to speak that way, they can. The same with other life lessons such as the clothes we wear.

     I’m not going to raise my kids with the mindset that we should push away people who are different than us. We should be teaching them to love people and treat just like everyone else no matter what they do. I’ve noticed that we live in a very judgemental generation, and I think it’s because they have been brought up thinking that they are more important than those around them. Well, I’m changing that starting in my household. I don’t mean just being nice to those around us, but acting as if they were just like us. 

Leave a Reply

