For you, my dear

As I stand here with your head cradled in the book of my arm, I’m so tired. It’s 2:30am and I can barely keep my eyes open. I had laid you in your crib, yet you tossed and turned, unlike how you do when you’re deep in your sleep, so I knew that one must have gotten overlooked. I am standing here gently bouncing you and patting the small of your back to try and work out the obnoxious bubble that is keeping from being content. I can’t help but to think how beautiful you look, although I can barely make out your features due to lack of illumination and to my clouded, sleep-deprived eyes. But I still stand here, smelling your sweet head and kissing your now gaping mouth, thinking of a song from my youth that I haven’t heard in ages. A work of the amazing Teddy Geiger. “I’ll muster every ounce of confidence I have, and cannonball into the water. Oh I’ll muster every ounce of confidence I have… For you I will, for you I will.” No matter how many times you call me in the middle of the night to come comfort you and fill your hunger, for you, my dear, I will. I kiss you once more, and lay you gently down once more. You toss a bit so I adjust your sweet little body until you finally relax, and now it’s time for me to rest. 

Good night, my dear. 

 

Leave a Reply

