Don’t just exist

Lately, I’ve been thinking about the upcoming year and what all it will, and what I hope it will, bring with it. I know many of you are already writing your new year’s resolutions, which will be acted out the first month and then forgotten by Valentines, but I want to do more. I want to become something, and someone, better than I’ve ever been.

I spent much of my 2015 year stressed and bored while I sat on my couch and did nothing about it. I was pregnant, and that became my excuse. I “couldn’t” go get a job because I was pregnant and had a toddler, but in reality, people do that all the time. The truth is, I didn’t get a job because I didn’t want to leave my baby with someone other than myself. I didn’t want someone else raising my kid. Towards the end of the year, I did apply for a job, but didn’t get it. I toyed with the idea of working from home, but being a skeptic, I was afraid to risk money that needed to be going to bills and debts. So, because of these factors, I spent a lot of my year worrying about money, wishing I could do more about it, not doing anything about it. I cried, I complained, I got angry, and I got stressed out, but I didn’t DO anything. I was being the type of person that I criticize. I can’t stand people who constantly complain about something, but don’t do anything to fix it, but yet, I had become one of those people. I have realized that, and my new years resolution is to DO something.

God recently opened a door for me to possibly nanny a boy from my mommy group. At first, I didn’t even think about it simply because I had thousands of “what if’s” running through my mind. What if I get overwhelmed with three kids? What if I don’t know what to do with a kid who’s not mine? What if he is a trouble child? The list goes on and on. But, instead of shutting it down without even thinking about it, I messaged the mom and offered to watch him. So, it worked out that I would have a few days with him to see if it was going to work out, and then if it worked, I could become his full time nanny. It’s a stretch for me, but I am willing to at least try it. I had to come to a realization that the worst that could happen is that it didn’t work out and I could just not go full time with it. I’m not going to lie, the doubt is still there, the “what if’s” are still there, but I’m not going to just sit around in my comfort zone and wait for a more “convenient” opportunity to present itself. I’m going to do something about my situation.

I have been talking to my brother about quantum theory and the idea that you can change your environment and situation simply by focusing on it. Sure, you can have your own thoughts about the universe and whether or not you believe it’s ever changing, but what we have talked about sure makes a heck of a lot of sense to me. Basically, they have been studying behaviors, yes I said behaviors, of individual molecules, and what they have found is astounding. Molecules behave a certain way on their own, but when they are being observed, they act in accordance to which they are expected to behave. Everything around us is made up of tiny little molecules. Therefore, our surroundings are behaving based on how we expect them to. So, if we anticipate that we our going to have a bad day, then everything we look at and focus on will, theoretically, behave the way we expect it to, which in this case would be negatively. Thus, if we want to have a great day, it would only make sense that first, we need to change our mindset. We need to think positively and think about what we want to happen. Not only would our environment reflect a more positive “aura”, but we would be happier because we would be expecting better things to happen and therefore would be more likely to notice the good things about our day instead of the bad.

Because of the quantum theory being brought to my attention, I have noticed that it is easier for me to quickly redirect my thoughts and emotions toward more positive thinking as long as I have a goal to keep. I want my family to enjoy being around me and to feel good in our home, so it only makes sense to focus on the good things so that everything around me can reflect the same.

Sure, I may sound crazy, but I have always believed that what you say has an effect on your surroundings, so why can’t the things we think have the same effect? I like thinking that God is bigger than what we have been taught. That he is cooler than just the “guy in the sky”. Don’t put God in a box, you’re just limiting yourself if you do. Don’t just exist in this world, be something, DO something, change something, but don’t just be here.

Photo cred.: http://www.sciencealert.com

quantum theory

 

 

Leave a Reply

