Having been there…

Today, my little sister went into the hospital to have her baby. It’s 10:00pm and she’s still got a few hours to go, but she’s there. Even though it’s not me having the kid, I’m super anxious for her! Like, can’t sleep, jumpy, excited, and afraid. I know it’s a sister thing, but I feel almost protective over her. I feel like I should be there coaching her, but I have my own sweet children, who are passed out at this very moment, to watch. I just wish there was a way that I could spare her the agony now, but there’s not…

     Having just had a baby 6 months ago, I am still very much aware of what she’s going to go through. I was there…. 6 very short months ago. I remember exactly how each gut wrenching (literally) contraction felt. I remember how it felt to want it all to be over with and how I wish I could do something to speed it up. I remember how I felt when I was breaking apart and I asked how much longer, and they told me to get comfortable because it would be a few more hours. I remember crying, but only because I was so tired but couldn’t give up. It didn’t exactly hurt like most pain hurts, it felt like someone had ahold of my pelvis and was pulling me down to the floor with everything they had, and I was trying to stay standing. Yes it hurt, but not in a sharp, painful type of way really… I also remember how it felt to have my nurses so interactive with me and so helpful. I remember the wonderful sense of relief when the nurse helped me get baby girls head through my cervix, then telling me I had gone from 7cm to 10 in a matter of seconds. I remember my doctor coming in and telling me to push, and that was the best news I had heard all day. I pushed about 8 times, and my sweet, crying little (or not so little) squishy baby was plopped onto my chest. She lay crying as I softly spoke to her and told her she was ok. She immediately went for the boob, and lay nursing for 45 minutes. She knew the good stuff from the start. I also remember, as I held my baby and looked at her sweet, fat little cheeks, how I completely forgot all of the 8-9 hours of agony and pain, and could only see her. I remember laying in bed getting stitched up, and watching my husband stare down at her in amazement. It made my heart melt. I was even more in love than ever.

     So, I pray that her labor is quick and painless, and that she gets to feel all of the wonderful feelings that I did.

Leave a Reply

